A Love Encounter

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
   Romans 5:8

Recently, I was listening to a song sung by Kim Walker-Smith, one of the worship leaders for the band, Jesus Culture.  It’s my newest favorite,  How He Loves Us.  It’s eight minutes and fifty-three seconds of pure passion.  At one point of the song, she stops singing and starts talking about how much God loves us and how that once we encounter God’s love, we are never the same. 

Today I got to watch a woman experience God’s love.  I’m not going to go into her specifics; she’d suffered a terrible tragedy twenty-six years ago and although she’d learned to live with it, she could never escape from the pain of it.  I really don’t know her church history, but I know a couple of months ago I’d spoken to her and she wasn’t really interested in church.  She’d had some bad experiences with church people and she was happy to steer clear of any further pain. 

I didn’t push her or try to change her mind, but rather showed her that maybe we were a little different.  I watched her continue to come around, not to Sunday service, but to help out around the church.  One of the ladies took her under her wing and loved on her and encouraged her and on Christmas Eve, I saw her sitting in the sanctuary during our candlelight service.  The following Sunday morning, the same thing.  Next thing I knew, she was in our ladies group and sharing a bit of her story.  As I saw the pain on her face, I encouraged her to come see me privately, that we’d talk. 

Well, today she did.  And after we talked, we prayed.  And during that prayer time, and it really wasn’t very long .. probably only a few minutes, she had a love encounter with God. With the tears streaming down her face, tears of joy she assured me, she said, “Thank you Jesus, that feels so good.” 

What she was feeling was the love of God .. and she will never be the same. 

Ten years ago I had a love encounter with God and I’ve never been the same.  I want to encourage you today, God loves you.  Regardless of anything you have ever done or anything that you did not do, it’s not about you.  It’s all about HIM.  HE LOVES YOU! 

If you’ve been  seeking love in all the wrong places … maybe it’s time you gave God a chance?

Father, thank you for your most awesome, amazing, unending love.  It’s true, once we encounter your love, we are never the same.  I am so thankful that I’m not the same.  I am so thankful that you loved me first.  And I am so thankful that your love doesn’t pick and choose.  You love us all … unconditionally.   Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

I love you Jesus,
  In your name I pray,
  Amen

God’s Blessings To You!

Love,
Joyce

The Choices You Make Today …
Will Affect Your Tomorrow!
http://www.alifedecision.org

 

Leave a Reply

